You don’t always get burned*

Yesterday, in my blog browsing, I came across someone who promised to explain why some gay believers persist in their faith despite the “underlying contempt” that comes from what is perceived to be “the church.”  I was irritated, and at first I didn’t want to read it. (And I’m not going to give you the link now either!) Eventually I had a look and I was unimpressed. It not only did not answer any questions at all, it was the usual blather about how gay people are persecuted by “the church.” (Did you notice, I put that in quotation marks both times?)

This sort of thing irritates me because after 14 years of ordained ministry, much of it as a priest in and for the gay community, I just get weary of feeling like I’m talking to a brick wall. And that brick wall, this time, is the glbt community! “Come on folks!” I want to shout. “I have been telling your for years that you have a place at the table, that God created you gay and that’s a good thing, and that the church” (at least mine) “welcomes you with open and affirming and loving arms!”

I guess there are a couple of things going on. Of course, there really are so-called “churches”–like the Roman Catholic one–that oppress gay people. They do it to keep power, pretty much in the same way and for the same reasons they oppress women. And there are the right-wing fundamentalist sects, that do it for the same reasons. And there are similar sects of other religions as well. But then there also is the notorious “Stockholm syndrome,” in which hostages learn to rely on being captive. This is not the first time I have made this analogy in addressing the glbt community. I see it all the time. Somehow, because we grew up feeling oppressed (I don’t mean to belittle the true oppression we face, by the way), but somehow because we have felt that oppression for decades, suddenly when it is not there anymore we just can’t cope. Or, at least, we can’t cope right away. You know I remember when I was a little kid my dad caught his shirt on fire when he got too close to the stovetop. And even though I cook all the time, I still have a little bit of fear of cooktops. So when I’m in my apartment in Amsterdam that has an induction cooktop I’m afraid of it, even though I know it isn’t hot. I have to re-learn. And that’s what happens to glbt folks too. So I’m here to say “Friends, the Episcopal Church has gay and lesbian priests and bishops and laity. We are fully incorporated in the fabric of Christianity. This is true of other Christian groups as well.” Not convinced? Come to Church of the Holy Trinity and see for yourself.

I guess the other part of it is how well we glbt folks have learned to banish or shun ourselves. We need to put that habit aside, and learn to see ourselves in the light of Christ. And that, folks, is what resurrection is all about. Sure the story makes us wonder, about Jesus and the tomb more than 2000 years ago. But resurrection is not distant my friends, it is real and urgent and now happening to each of us, if only we can learn to see it. We have to put aside the old way of thinking, and let the light in.

In the scripture for Easter we have this funny sermon by Peter. Every year I look at this and want to laugh, because it says he converts thousands, but it just isn’t a very good sermon! Then again, I always remind myself, this is not the sermon itself, but the version of it that got passed around like a party story from ear to ear through thousands of people until it got written down. Be that as it may, the power is in the opening clause “I truly understand that God shows no partiality.” That means, you and me, folks, are God’s children too. Paul says we should set our minds on things that are above, where Christ is. He says the old life has died and us with it, and now we are resurrected with Christ. Our glory, like Christ’s, is hidden with Christ, in God. It looks odd to 21st century eyes. It means, stop living in the past, and start living like a child of God, and you will see that you have resurrection life too.

Finally, the Johanine resurrection appearance reminds us that Jesus is utterly transformed by his resurrection. Not even his good friend Mary Magdalene recognizes him. Until she hears his voice, she cannot believe it is him. My friends, resurrection transfigures—it wipes away the old, it erases the oppression, it reveals the light. And all you have to do to experience it, is seek it. Turn, look, see. Alleliuia, Christ is risen for you.

Easter (Acts 10:34-43;Psalm 118: 1-2, 14-24; Colossians 3:1-4; John 20:1-18)

©2011 The Rev. Dr. Richard P. Smiraglia. All rights reserved.

Comments Off on You don’t always get burned*

Filed under Easter, liberation theology

Comments are closed.