The Circle of Life*

Lately I’ve been sort of culturally discombobulated, and I know why and I know it is politically incorrect to write about it. So I’ll try to be careful. I think the reason is that I’ve been sort of experiencing culture shock by, let’s just say I haven’t been spending much time in the company of gay folks. There, I said it, sort of.

Now I know it’s 2016 and lgbt people have been fully liberated and integrated in society—ok, maybe not so much, but still, things are quite a lot more liberated and integrated than when I was young. I know many young lgbt folks think we don’t need our own venues any more. But I still need the company of gay folks, just now and again. It helps me keep my balance.

For one thing, I grew up in a time when the rest of society pretty much was likely to grow violent if you were detected in their midst. Almost as painful was the cold shoulder, the other approach, where you were simply completely ignored. Now I know those days are sort of over. But still, decades of experience color my own perceptions. Although I came out in 1976, which was awhile ago, I still carry with me pain from exclusion and fear, all from my youth fifty years ago. So you are fortunate if you are of a contemporary generation and do not carry that baggage. But still, sometimes I just like to sit still in a place where everybody is gay.

I think it’s a natural sort of impulse. Families work that way too sometimes, you just feel better in the bosom of your family, even if Thanksgivings can get to be excruciating thanks to family dynamics.

But Christian life is meant to be lived in change mode. The church models a certain kind of life through the liturgical year—we move from Pentecost and the empowering fire of the Holy Spirit, through the long slog summer of Jesus’ ministry, and then when it is cold and grey and snowing we turn inward for Advent, and then Christmas comes and we start all over again, awaiting a new thing. It is like a circle of life, and the church intends us to learn to take comfort in the familiar, but also to use it as a springboard for being constantly renewed. A new thing is happening every day in each one of us. If we are in Christ, then we are constantly new. Not once for a minute, but constantly and forever new.

This is what Paul means when he says: “It is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me.” We have to take part in the circle of life and participate in building up the family in love, because the world revolves in love and it all works better when we participate. We are to give love outward, to “walk in love,” as Paul calls us to do. We are to participate in the circle of life and love that begins in our hearts and souls.

In Luke’s Gospel (7:36-8:3) Jesus is loving outward. He is invited to a formal dinner, but when he gets there he brings with him some outcasts. He loves them. He shows his love by giving them respect, which they are not shown by the hosts, because they are working women. What a concept, respect. It really is that simple. Give respect to everyone. Even those “other” cultures. It is how lgbt people are called to participate in the circle of life and God’s love.

 

©2016 The Rev. Dr. Richard P. Smiraglia. All rights reserved.

Proper 6 Year C 2016 RCL (1 Kings 21:1-10, (11-14), 15-21a; Psalm 5:1-8 Verba mea auribus ; Galatians 2:15-21 ; Luke 7:36-8:3)

Comments Off on The Circle of Life*

Filed under equality, love

Comments are closed.